What do you do when you’ve got a houseful of overnight guests and you need to provide them with a decent breakfast in the morning? And, what do you do if cooking isn’t one of your strong points; yet you want to provide your guests with something more substantial than an old dried up supermarket donut and a cup of coffee? And lastly, what do you do if said guests like to sleep until mid morning and when they’re ready to have breakfast, it’s actually closer to lunchtime than breakfast? Well, you can do what I did last weekend and cook up a terrific brunch recipe in your slow cooker—problem solved!

“Slow Cooker Breakfast Bake” is definitely one of those slow cooker recipes that I would describe as easy, tasty, filling, foolproof…everything I’ve come to expect from recipes cooked in the slow cooker. There’s nothing fancy about this recipe, which I found while browsing through the “Slow Cooker Recipes” on RecipeTips.com, but it’s definitely a crowd pleaser—my houseguests gobbled it up in short order. It’s loaded with all kinds of good things, such as eggs, hash browns, ham, onions, bacon, and cheese, which cook up in the slow cooker into one irresistible casserole-like breakfast dish.

Slow Cooker Breakfast Bake

Slow Cooker Breakfast Bake

I put everything in the crock pot the night before and refrigerated it overnight. I set my alarm for 5:30 a.m., removed the crock from the fridge, stuck it in the slow cooker unit, and went back to bed for a couple of hours, knowing that I would be up long before my guests began to stir. The dish was ready when they finally came downstairs, still half asleep, following their noses to the wonderful aroma wafting from the kitchen.

I served this breakfast bake with some sliced fruit and some store-bought blueberry muffins. This delicious brunch turned out to be substantial enough to hold everyone over until the evening meal. This was a really satisfying dish, not only because it tasted so good, but also because it was such a hit with everyone. I highly recommend that you try it out for yourself.