I thought I would share with you a slow cooker chicken recipe that has become one of my favorites: “Slow Cooker Orange Chicken.” It’s actually a recipe that I found on the Internet that I adapted to my own taste.

Here’s what you need:

  • 8 boneless and skinless chicken thighs
  • 4 boneless and skinless chicken breasts
  • ¼ cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • ¾ cup orange marmalade
  • ½ cup barbecue sauce (your favorite brand)
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

Here’s what to do:

  • Mix the flour, garlic powder, and black pepper in a shallow dish. Dredge the chicken in the flour mixture.
  • Add the orange marmalade, barbecue sauce, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and ginger to the slow cooker and stir.
  • Add the coated chicken to the slow cooker.
  • Cover the crock pot and cook the chicken on the low heat setting for 6 to 8 hours or on the high heat setting for 3 to 4 hours.
  • Serve the orange chicken atop a bed of cooked white rice.

I’ve found that you can cook the chicken for longer than 8 hours without any adverse effects, because if you put the chicken on before you go to work, it’s often not practical for most of us to get home within 8 hours. This is a very tasty recipe that I make at least once a month.

