My last post was about a Tex-Mex-inspired pot pie, and I liked it so much that I thought I’d share another Tex-Mex recipe this time. This one is a terrific soup that my neighbors made the other night and shared with me. It was their own recipe, which they referred to as simply “Tex-Mex Soup in the Slow Cooker.”

Here’s what you need:

  • 5- or 6-quart slow cooker
  • 1 ½ pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into pieces
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cans (14.5 ounces each) of chicken broth
  • 1 package (16 ounces) frozen corn, thawed
  • 1 can black beans
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 roasted green or yellow pepper, chopped
  • 1 roasted sweet red pepper, chopped
  • 2 jalapenos, finely chopped
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper
  • Hot sauce or Tabasco (optional)

Here’s what to do:

  • In a large skillet, sauté the chicken in the oil until lightly browned.
  • Drain the oil from the chicken; then transfer the chicken to the slow cooker.
  • Roast the sweet peppers, cool, and chop (Roast the peppers in the oven, or using a long fork, hold the peppers over the flame of a gas burner. Grilled peppers are equally good.)
  • Stir in all of the remaining ingredients.
  • Cover and cook on the low heat setting for 7 to 8 hours. Stir before serving.
  • Increase the heat with hot sauce or Tabasco if desired.

This was a flavorful soup that had just enough heat to liven up the ingredients, but it wasn’t so overpowering that it disguised all of the other great flavors; however, I didn’t add any extra hot sauce or Tabasco. It was a different story with my neighbors who like to turn up the heat. Try this recipe—I think you’ll enjoy it.

