For the past few weeks, I’ve been drawn to slow cooker recipes featuring chicken. I suppose the spring and summer seasons have something to do with it, because with the warmer weather comes my desire to eat a bit lighter, and chicken seems much lighter to me than recipes that include red meat. With that said, my latest slow cooker meal was a chicken dish that I found on BetterRecipes.com called, “Raspberry Chicken Supreme” submitted to the site by Brandon Norton.

Here’s what you need:

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 2-inch cubes
  • 3 cups quick-cooking white rice
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 jar (12 ounces) raspberry preserves
  • ¼ cup Dijon-style mustard
  • 1 cup pineapple chunks (canned), drained

Here’s what to do:

  • In the crock pot (I used my 5-quart oval), combine the rice, chicken broth, and ginger.
  • In a small bowl, mix the raspberry preserves and mustard.
  • Add the preserves and mustard mixture to the crock pot and stir it into rice and broth.
  • Add the chicken cubes and pineapple to the crock pot and stir.
  • Cover the slow cooker and cook on the low-heat setting for 3 hours or until the liquid is absorbed into the rice and the chicken is cooked to 170ºF (as measured by a reliable meat thermometer).

I would have to say that this dish looked a bit bland when it was ready to serve, but it tasted quite good (otherwise I wouldn’t be writing about it). It had a delicious sweet flavor with a hint of spiciness—sort of a tropical or Caribbean quality. Anyway, it reminded me of summer and seemed appropriate to serve this time of year. I shared it with a few neighbors who didn’t care what season or type of cuisine that it reminded them of, because they were too busy gobbling it up to consider such trivialities. Thanks for the recipe, Brandon. Enjoy!

