I needed a new chicken dish that I could bring to a party this weekend, so the other night, I made this slow cooker chicken recipe, which I found on GroupRecipes.com. This way, I could try it out ahead of time to make sure that it would be suitable for a large number of people. I’m not comfortable bringing something untried to a large gathering, although I don’t mind subjecting a few close friends to something new when they come to my house. If it’s a disaster, we can always have pizza delivered. Anyway, this recipe “Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Ginger Chicken,” turned out very well, so my decision to make it again for the weekend party was an easy one.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 10 boneless and skinless chicken pieces (breast halves and thighs)
  • ¾ cup honey
  • ¾ cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons ketchup
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger root
  • 1 can (20 ounces) pineapple tidbits, drained (reserve the juice)
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • ¼ cup cold water

Here’s what to do:

  • Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat, and cook the chicken just until it is browned on all sides; then place the chicken in the slow cooker.
  • In a bowl, mix the honey, soy sauce, ketchup, garlic, ginger, and reserved pineapple juice. Pour this mixture into the slow cooker.
  • Cover the crock pot and cook 4 hours on the high heat setting; then remove the chicken and set it aside to keep warm.
  • Mix the cornstarch and water in a small bowl; then blend the cornstarch mixture into the sauce in the slow cooker in order to thicken it.
  • When the sauce has reached the desired consistency, spoon it over the chicken and serve.
  • Note: It’s especially good if you place the chicken on a bed of rice and then spoon the sauce over both the chicken and the rice, allowing the sauce to soak in a bit before serving.

I brought a big pot of cooked white rice to the party in addition to this delicious chicken dish (which I doubled and made in two crock pots), and the whole works disappeared in no time. Guess I’ll have to make it again. Thanks to “jo_jo_ba” for submitting this recipe on the GroupRecipes site.

