This was the first time that I made stuffed peppers in the crock pot; as a matter of fact, this was the first time I’ve made stuffed peppers period. I was very pleased with the outcome. I used a recipe that I found on BetterRecipes.com submitted by “Rayma” called simply, “Crock Pot Stuffed Peppers.” I guess that’s straightforward enough; the recipe was simple, nothing fancy, but really tasty.

Here’s what you need:

  • 6 green sweet peppers
  • ½ medium onion, chopped
  • 1 pound of lean ground beef
  • 1 package of chicken flavored rice and vermicelli mix (I used the inexpensive supermarket brand.)
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 ½ teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 can (8 ounces) tomato sauce

Here’s what to do:

  • Wash the green peppers and cut off the tops. Clean out the seeds from the inside of the peppers.
  • Chop the tops of the peppers and the onion and set both aside.
  • Sauté the ground beef in a skillet until lightly browned; then drain off the grease.
  • Add the chopped pepper tops and onions to the ground beef and continue to sauté until the peppers begin to soften.
  • Dump the ground beef mixture into a medium bowl and add the rice and vermicelli mix, corn, Worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper, and cheese. Mix the ingredients well.
  • Scoop the mixture evenly into the six peppers.
  • Lightly coat the inside of the crock pot with nonstick cooking spray for easy cleanup.
  • Place the filled peppers into the slow cooker; then pour the tomato sauce evenly over the peppers.
  • Cover and cook for 6 to 8 hours on the low-heat setting or 3 to 4 hours on high-heat setting.

This was an especially good dish to enjoy on a cool, rainy spring day. Again, as with many of the crock pot recipes that I make, I really didn’t need any accompaniments to go with this in order to satisfy my hunger, although I did have a few fresh strawberries with it. Enjoy!

