“Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Teriyaki” is a recipe I found on BetterRecipes.com that I prepared yesterday and enjoyed for dinner last night. Rather than cooking it on low heat so that it would cook all day while I was at work, I waited until I got home to cook it. I set the crock pot on high heat so that the chicken would be done in half the time. Although it wasn’t ready until 9 pm, it was perfect timing for me, because I wanted to take advantage of the nice weather and have as much time as possible to work outside before taking a break. What a nice treat to have waiting for me when I was through digging in the yard and finishing my spring cleanup.

Here’s what you need:

  • 12 chicken drumsticks
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • ¼ cup honey
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • ¼ cup fresh ginger, chopped
  • ½ teaspoon cardamom
  • 1 unpeeled orange, cut into thin slices

Here’s what to do:

  • Place the olive oil, onions, and garlic into the slow cooker.
  • Place the chicken pieces on top.
  • Mix together the soy sauce, honey, orange juice, brown sugar, ginger, and cardamom and pour it over the chicken.
  • Cover with the thinly sliced oranges.
  • Cook on the high heat setting for 4 hours or the low heat setting for 8 hours.
  • Thicken the juices, if desired, and serve the chicken over white rice.

Instead of twelve drumsticks, I used only six and substituted the other six with four boneless chicken breast halves. It worked out perfectly. This delicious recipe was submitted by K. Mansfield.

