Actually, when I wrote about “Slow-cooked Chili” yesterday, it wasn’t the only chili recipe I found on AllRecipes.com that I decided to make. I also found a tasty vegetarian version called “Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili” that I made the very next day in order to fulfill my goal of maintaining a vegetarian diet at least one day a week. As I said yesterday, I froze the leftovers of that ground beef chili, which is also what I did with this vegetarian recipe. Now, since I have about twelve containers of chili in the freezer, I won’t have to make it again for quite a while. Anyway, here’s the recipe for this delicious vegetarian chili.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 can (28 ounces) whole peeled tomatoes with juice
  • 1 can (15 ounces) garbanzo beans, drained
  • 2 zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 2 stalks celery, sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/3 cup chili powder (I used less than half that amount.)
  • 1 can (4 ounces) chopped green chili peppers
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Here’s what to do:

  • In a large slow cooker (I used my 5-quart oval model), combine all of the ingredients.
  • Cover and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours or cook on high for 3 to 4 hours. How much simpler could that be!

This was a very satisfying, flavorful chili, but it seemed like one-third cup of chili powder was an awful lot, so I cut the amount to less than half. I’m glad I did, because the chili was still plenty spicy, but if you like your chili really hot, then don’t change the amount called for in the recipe. Enjoy!

