I was in the mood for a good chili recipe, one that I could make in the slow cooker (of course), and I came upon one on AllRecipes.com that looked really good. It’s called simply, “Slow-cooked Chili.” It was, indeed, very good, and it was easy to make as well.

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 2 cans (16 ounces each)  kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cans (14.5 ounces each) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 can (8 ounces) tomato sauce
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • Shredded Cheddar cheese (optional garnish)
  • Sour cream (optional garnish)

Here’s what to do:

  • In a large skillet, cook the ground beef over medium heat until no longer pink; then drain the grease.
  • Transfer the ground beef to a slow cooker and add the next nine ingredients.
  • Cover and cook on the low heat setting for 8 to 10 hours or cook on the high heat setting for 4 hours.
  • Garnish individual servings with cheese and/or sour cream if desired.
Slow-cooked Chili

Slow-cooked Chili

I think the slow cooker really gives chili a special flavor that you don’t get when cooking it on the stovetop. And, using the slow cooker as my primary method of cooking always results in tons of leftovers (if I haven’t invited guests over to share it with me), which, as I have said before, is economical and a real time saver. In this case, I put the leftover chili into small plastic containers and popped them into the freezer so that I can enjoy a single serving whenever I want it.

This recipe was submitted to AllRecipes by Sue Call, so thank you, Sue, for this terrific chili!

