I found a terrific slow cooker chicken recipe on the AllRecipes.com site called, “Slow Cooker Tipsy Chicken,” but I thought it would be appropriate to rename the recipe, because by the time I got done preparing it, the chicken was well beyond tipsy. The recipe called for 1 ¼ cups of wine to be poured into the crock pot just prior to covering and cooking, but I wasn’t content to leave it at that. Here’s what happened: Before the chicken went into the crock pot, I sautéed it on the stovetop for several minutes as suggested in the recipe, but I thought it would be a good idea to deglaze the pan with some white wine to loosen up the tasty little brown bits that add so much flavor to any dish; then I dumped this liquid into the crock pot. When it was time to actually add the 1 ¼ cups of wine to the slow cooker, I added more, because it just didn’t seem like enough. I just kept tipping the wine bottle into the pot until the amount of liquid looked adequate. It never occurred to me that I could add water if it looked a bit too thick. Oh, well, I guess I was thinking that a little more wine couldn’t hurt anything—and it didn’t—the chicken was moist and delicious. And, the sauce was fantastic! Anyway, that’s how my tipsy chicken got drunk. Enjoy!

Here’s what you need:

  • 4- to 5-quart slow cooker
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 8 chicken thighs (use skinless if you wish) (Note: I threw in two chicken breasts as well)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 can (10.75 ounces) condensed cream of celery soup
  • 1 can (10.75 ounces) condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 jar (5 ounces) pimento-stuffed green olives (drain the liquid)
  • 1 package (8 ounces) sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1 ¼ cups Chablis wine
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

Here’s what to do:

  • Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat.
  • Season the chicken with salt and pepper; then brown the chicken for 2 to 3 minutes on each side. Place the chicken in a slow cooker. (Note: at this point, you can deglaze the pan with some wine if you wish; then add this liquid to the crock pot.)
  • In a saucepan over medium heat, blend the cream of mushroom soup and the cream of celery soup (cook until it is just heated); then pour the mixture over the chicken in the slow cooker.
  • Add the olives, mushrooms, wine, and flour to the slow cooker.
  • Cover the crock pot and cook on the low heat setting for 8 hours.
