This was an ultra-delicious pureed soup using three types of potatoes: russet, Yukon gold (my favorite), and sweet potatoes. I found this recipe, which is actually called, “Creamy Three Potato Crock Pot Soup with Rosemary” on the BetterRecipes.com Website, and I must say that it’s one of the best potato soup recipes I’ve ever tasted.

Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Soup

Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Soup

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and chopped
  • 1 medium russet baking potato, peeled and chopped
  • 2 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 cups water
  • ¼ cup margarine
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons fresh rosemary, chopped (or use ½ teaspoon dried rosemary)
  • 6 sprigs fresh rosemary for garnish

Here’s what to do:

  • Set the crock pot (I used my round 4-quart model) to the high heat setting. Stir in the olive oil and onion and cook for about 10 minutes.
  • While the onions are cooking, peel and chop the potatoes.
  • Add the potatoes, vegetable stock, water, margarine, salt, and 2 teaspoons fresh rosemary (reserve the rest for a garnish). Reduce the heat to the lowest setting. Cover the crock pot and let the soup cook for 6 to 8 hours.
  • Puree the soup in the crock pot with an immersion blender or a hand mixer.
  • Ladle the soup into 6 bowls and garnish each serving with a sprig of fresh rosemary (or ladle the soup into one bowl and refuse to share it with anyone else).

I made this soup last night, which was the day I chose this week to go vegetarian. I’ve been fairly successful in adhering to my plan to have at least one vegetarian day every week (except for a two-week stretch after Thanksgiving); in fact, sometimes I find myself enjoying a vegetarian diet for more than one day a week as part of my lifestyle change of eating healthier and avoiding fast food restaurants. Besides being a great vegetarian dish, this soup is perfect for warming you up on a cold winter night (and it’s economical, too). Enjoy!

