Wintertime seems to be a good time for a hearty beef dish, especially one cooked in the crock pot. I found a good recipe on the RecipeTips.com site, called “Slow Cooked Beef in Onion Sauce” that I highly recommend. 

Slow Cooked Beef in Onion SauceHere’s what you need:

  • 1 beef chuck roast, 2 to 3 lbs.
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano, crumbled
  • 2 pounds onions, chopped or thinly sliced
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 cup of dry red wine
  • 1 cup of water

Here’s what to do:

  • Trim any excess fat from the meat.
  • Mix the salt, pepper, paprika, and oregano in a small bowl; then rub this mixture on all surfaces of the meat.
  • Place the onions, garlic, tomato paste, and about ½ cup of the water into crock pot and mix well. Add the remaining liquid and stir.
  • Nestle the meat into the liquid, cover the crock pot, and cook on the low heat setting for 8 to 9 hours, or until the meat is fork tender. Taste for seasoning.

Like many other slow cooker recipes that I find while searching the Internet, this recipe didn’t specify the size of the slow cooker to use, but I used my oval 5-quart model, and it worked just fine. I served this recipe with mashed potatoes and green beans—fantastic! Try it and see what I mean.

Oh, and one thing I have to mention about the RecipeTips.com site: I discovered that they have a really thorough section about slow cooking describing everything you need to know to make great food using a slow cooker. This information has been very helpful to me and I use it quite often. Check it out and see if you agree.

