I found a good wild rice soup recipe on BettyCrocker.com that was just the ticket for warming me up on a bleak winter day: one of those cold gray lifeless days that fill me with the sense that spring will never come. Well, it’s difficult to feel too depressed while enjoying this tasty, satisfying soup, called “Slow Cooker Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup.”

Here’s what you need:

  • A 3 ½- to 4-quart slow cooker (I used my 4-quart round model.)
  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken thighs (about 5 thighs), cut into one-inch pieces
  • ½ cup uncooked wild rice
  • ¼ cup fresh or frozen chopped onions (I used fresh)
  • 2 cans (10 ¾ ounces each) condensed cream of potato soup
  • 1 can (14 ounces) roasted garlic-seasoned chicken broth
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen sliced carrots (I used fresh)
  • 1 cup half-and-half

Here’s what to do:

  • Place the cut-up chicken in the slow cooker.
  • In a large bowl, mix the wild rice, onions, carrots, condensed soup, and broth; then pour the mixture over the chicken.
  • Cover the slow cooker and cook on the low heat setting for 7 to 8 hours.
  • Stir in the half-n-half; then increase the heat setting to high, cover, and cook for an additional 15 to 30 minutes or until piping hot.

I did make one change to the ingredients: I didn’t have any garlic-seasoned chicken broth on hand, so I used regular canned chicken broth plus one-half teaspoon of garlic powder. The recipe did suggest doing this as a substitution, except that you should use only one-quarter teaspoon of garlic powder, but I like a bolder garlic flavor. The recipe also suggests serving the soup with cheese-garlic biscuits, which sounded fantastic (the recipe was provided), but I didn’t have the time (or frankly, the desire) to make them. I simply served the soup with what I had on hand: crusty sourdough bread. Mmmm!

