I was in the mood for a great tasting Italian dinner yesterday—one that I could prepare using my slow cooker (of course). And, I knew that whatever I decided to make, the fact that I would be using the slow cooker meant that it would be an easy recipe to prepare. I have yet to find a slow cooker recipe that has been even close to what I would consider challenging, which is just fine by me, because when your time is limited and your cooking ability is even more limited, who wants to attempt to create something that’s way over your head?  Not me. All I care about is that it tastes good. Well, the slow cooker chicken cacciatore recipe that I found on RecipeTips.com was definitely that; in fact, I think it was the best version I’ve ever tasted.  “Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore” is bursting with flavor and is perfect when served on a bed of pasta. The recipe suggests that it can also be served with rice, polenta, or potatoes, but I used the pasta (spaghetti, specifically), which allowed me to serve the chicken as an entree and the pasta as a side dish with the great tasting sauce spooned over it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

I used my 4-quart round crock pot for this recipe. Rather than cooking the dish on low heat all day while I was at work (like I do for many of the slow cooker recipes that I prepare for dinner), I had all of the prep work done in the morning before work; then I popped the crock into the refrigerator until I returned home. Since I knew that I would be getting out of work earlier than usual, I knew I would have time to cook the dish on high heat (requiring about three hours) when I got home, so that I could still have my dinner at a decent time (7:30). And, guess what I brought to work today to enjoy for lunch? Yum!

