I prepared a flavorful slow cooker beef recipe last night called “Slow Cooker Pepper Steak” that I found among the recipes in the extensive collection on AllRecipes.com. Although it involved an extra cooking step (sautéing the meat prior to slow cooking), which is something that I tend to stay away from when using the slow cooker, I have to admit that the little bit of extra fuss was well worth it, because the resulting dish was excellent. This recipe was submitted by “MJWAGNER68,” who says, “Very tender and flavorful, this recipe is one of our family’s favorites. It’s great to make ahead of time in the slow cooker and then serve over rice, egg noodles, or chow mein.”

Here’s what you need:

  • The recipe didn’t specify what size of slow cooker to use, but I used my round 4-quart model and it worked out just fine.
  • 2 pounds beef sirloin cut into 2-inch strips
  • garlic powder to taste (I used about 1 teaspoon.)
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil (I used olive oil, as usual.)
  • 1 cube beef bouillon
  • ¼ cup hot water
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • ½ cup chopped onion
  • 2 large green bell peppers roughly chopped
  • 1 can (14.5 ounces) stewed tomatoes with liquid
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon white granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I omitted the salt.)

Here’s what to do:

  • Sprinkle the strips of sirloin with the garlic powder.
  • In a large skillet, heat the vegetable oil over medium heat and brown the seasoned beef strips; then transfer the meat to the slow cooker.
  • In a small bowl or measuring cup, add the bouillon cube to the hot water and stir until dissolved; then mix in the cornstarch until dissolved. Pour this mixture over the meat in the slow cooker.
  • Stir in the onion, green peppers, stewed tomatoes, soy sauce, sugar, and salt.
  • Cover the crock pot and cook on the high heat setting for 3 to 4 hours or the low heat setting for 6 to 8 hours. (As usual, I chose the low heat setting so that I could cook it while at work.)
  • Serve the pepper steak over rice, egg noodles, chow mein, or mashed potatoes.

The only ingredient I omitted was the salt, because one of the reviewers of the recipe thought that the recipe was delicious but a bit too salty. I’m glad that I followed that advice, because I felt that without the salt, the dish was plenty salty for my taste buds. I served the pepper steak over mashed potatoes as suggested by another reviewer. In a word, this recipe was terrific!

