Recipe titles that include the word easy always catch my eye, so it’s no surprise that I chose this recipe. Featured on the BetterRecipes.com Website, “Easy Crock Pot Beef Stew,” certainly lives up to its name. With only six ingredients (plus water) and minimal preparation (chopping an onion and a few potatoes and carrots) it couldn’t get any easier.

Easy Crock Pot Beef Stew

Easy Crock Pot Beef Stew

Here’s what you need:

  • The recipe didn’t specify the size of slow cooker to use, but I used a 5-quart model.
  • 1 lb. beef stew meat, cut into cubes
  • 1 lb. baby carrots (I had a few regular carrots on hand, so I used them instead. I simply cut them into half-inch slices.)
  • 4 or 5 medium potatoes, chopped into bite-size pieces
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 packages McCormick brown gravy mix
  • 1 package McCormick beef stew seasoning

Here’s what to do:

  • Peel and chop the potatoes into bite-size pieces.
  • Chop the onion.
  • Place the stew meat and the vegetables in the slow cooker.
  • Cover the ingredients with water and stir in the gravy and seasoning mixes. (Before adding the water to the slow cooker, I stirred the gravy and seasoning mixes into about 2 cups of water; then I poured it over the ingredients in the slow cooker. I added more plain water to the slow cooker until the ingredients were covered.)
  • Cook covered on the high heat setting for 4 to 6 hours or on the low heat setting for 8 to 12 hours.
  • This recipe makes about 6 big servings. (Plenty of leftovers!)

Although this beef stew wasn’t my all-time favorite, it was, nevertheless, quite good. It certainly was a time saver and a money saver. The leftovers provided me with my lunch today, and the rest of it went into the freezer, stored in those single-serving-size plastic containers.

