slow-cookerFor my first entry, I decided that I should tell you about my purpose for creating this blog, which I have also posted on my “About” page. My goal is to share with you my enthusiasm for one of the most useful kitchen appliances ever created: the slow cooker or crock pot. I’ll be writing about some of my favorite recipes, useful tips and techniques, and time-saving ideas featuring the slow cooker. As my tag line indicates (If it can’t be cooked in a crock pot—forget it!), I do very little cooking that doesn’t involve a slow cooker. I rarely turn on the stovetop or use the oven. Since I’m extremely busy with my job and active in numerous organizations outside the workplace, cooking (using traditional methods) is one of those things that I simply don’t have the time (or the patience) to do; however, I love the taste of home-cooked food, I hate fast food, and I try to eat a nutritious diet despite the lack of time I can devote to cooking. This is why slow cooking has become so important to me. I can throw something together in a hurry before I go to work, and when I return home in the evening, dinner is ready. And, I usually have enough leftovers to provide me with another meal or two.

One of my favorite activities is to entertain family and friends, which I do quite often. Of course, when people come to my house, they almost always get a meal cooked in a slow cookersometimes several slow cookers, as occasionally I prepare an entrée and several side dishes using multiple slow cookers; in fact, I can’t remember the last time I cooked a meal for guests that didn’t involve at least one slow cooker. Since my friends and family are always eager to come back and they always comment on how much they like the food, I know that using the slow cooker is the primary reason for my success. I never have to worry about burning something on the stovetop or overcooking the meat in the oven or timing something precisely, because there is so much leeway when using a slow cooker. And, the cleanup couldn’t be any quicker or easier.

So, for all of you busy people out there who would like to enjoy home-cooked meals more often, don’t forget about that slow cooker collecting dust on your basement shelves. Even if you’re on the tightest budget, a slow cooker is an affordable appliance, providing you with one of the most convenient and economical ways to cook. In my opinion, it’s one of the best kitchen gadgets ever created.

